Tsilhqot'in Sovereignty

Above: Joe Alphonse, Chief of the Tl'etinqox (Anaham) First Nation and tribal chair for the Tsilhqot’in National Government and Marilyn Baptiste, Chief of the Tsilhqot'in People of Xeni Gwet'in. Both leaders share bloodlines with the Nuxalkmc and they can count on our support.

The Nuxalk wrote a letter to the prime minister of Canada on 28 November 2011: "Nuxalkmc are sovereign and we have never ceded our Territory. We, the undersigned, have never relinquished our authority as Staltmc."

"We recognize the Tsilhqot'in as sovereign, having never ceded their Territory to anyone, including Canada. We fully respect the decision making authority that the Tsilhqot'in maintain over their Territory, and we encourage you to do the same. We do not recognize any authorizations that may have been granted by the Canadian government, or its designates, for activities within Tsilhqot'in Territory, including any and all pertaining to 'Prosperity Mine' in the vicinity of Teztan Biny."


Nuxalk Smayusta Homepage